The answer is 'Yes', your account can be deleted, however by doing this, you delete your blog (Talk about... Me) completely - all text and images - and all your posts in the forums will automatically be subscribed to 'anonymous'. (To remove these completely, you will need to email me, as only a site administrator can do this.)
To delete your account, send an email through the 'Talk to... Us' button, requesting your account be deleted. And while you're emailing the GoodOldTalk team, why not let me know your reason for leaving? We would love your feedback, as our aim here is to make the site meet the needs of as many people as possible, so any feedback you are willing to share would be very helpful. And thank you for being a part of us, if only for a short while!